Friday 27 December 2013

Artist's Book: We're Sorry_

110mm x 135mm with 30 pages.
The cover is printed on heavy card and is held shut by a slide-off hazard-tape belly band. 
The inside cover is printed with a pattern of apologies. The 30 inside pages are printed in black on blue paper, they are bound into the book in two sections in an unusual 'W' sewn binding. Click on the image for a detail. The photographic images are printed on sticker paper then cut out using a perforation cutter and stuck into the book. Produced in an edition of 10 each book is numbered and signed.

Have you noticed that the more life apparently gets better, the more things seem to break down? Vending machines, ticket machines, cash machines and computers all conspire to refuse us their automated service - spitting-out notes and stealing change. It doesn't end there, public toilets are locked or broken and automated turnstiles simply refuse to let us pass.
Surprisingly this mechanical entropy seems to have gone unnoticed. However, through the course of
a few months armed with a camera phone I recorded the mechanical revolt that is gradually gathering pace all around us. We're Sorry_ is a salute to brokenness and the signs that announce it.

Current edition has a white cover and alternative images within

Selected Exhibitions:

Closure 2009, The Gallery, The University of Northampton, 15th August–19th September 2009 at artworks-MK, Milton Keynes, UK.We're Sorry_ has been accepted for this travelling artists' book exhibition from the We Love Your Books Collective.
After the exhibiton, We're Sorry_ will join the WLYB permanent archive

Montage Over Britain: David Ferry plus Artists’ Books from the CFPR Collection
Saturday 9 December 2006 - Sunday 14 January 2007
Permanent Gallery and Bookshop, Brighton
We're Sorry_ from Damp Flat Books will be in the exhibition.
Accompanying the show will be a unique collection of 45 contemporary books by artists, available for visitors to view. This collection has been especially selected for The Permanent Bookshop by Sarah Bodman, and includes the work of Jake Tilson, Yoko Ono, Sophie Calle and David Shrigley.